Julia Jacklin, Stella Donnelly, Methyl Ethel + more nominated for 2019 Australian Music Prize

Other Nominees Include Two People, Cub Sport & Mansionair

The first round of nominees for the 2019 Australian Music Prize have been announced, celebrating some of the finest records put to tape by Australian artists over the past 12 months.

For the past 15 years, the $30,000 Australian Music Prize has recognized and celebrated “the album as an important artistic format” within the Australian musical landscape. The prize expands the parameters beyond the typical Triple J sound to acknowledge works which are slightly left-field and push conventions of genre, with previous winners including Sampa The Great, Gurrumul and The Jezabels.


Check out the longlist in its current form below - there's also meant to be more names added along the way, so keep your eyes peeled for them too. Personally, we'd love to see Julia Jacklin nab this year's prize for Crushing. What a ripper.



2019 Australian Music Prize Nominees

Alex Lahey – The Best Of Luck Club

Andrea Keller – Transients Volume 1

Charlie Collins - Snowpine

Cub Sport – Cub Sport

Daggy Man – I’m Going To Love As Long As I Live

Dispossessed – Warpath Never Ended

Emma Russack – Winter Blues

Hatchie – Keepsake

Jess Ribeiro – Love Hate

Julia Jacklin – Crushing

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Fishing For Fishies

Mansionair – Shadowboxer

Martin Frawley – Undone At 31

Methyl Ethel – Triage

Olympia - Flamingo

Polish Club - Iguana

Stella Donnelly – Beware Of The Dogs

Sunbeam Sound Machine – Goodness Gracious

Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Two People – First Body


Head to the Australian Music Prize website to find out more.